Lord Shanmukha and His Worship. Front Cover. Swami Sivananda people are saying – Write a review. We haven’t found any reviews in the usual places. Kartikeya (IAST: Kārttikēya), also known as Murugan, Skanda, Kumara, and Subrahmanya, is the Hindu god of war. He is the son of Parvati and Shiva, brother of Ganesha, and a god whose life .. This has encouraged the worship of Murugan as a child-God, very similar to the worship of the child Krishna in north India. Lord Shanmukha and His Worship – The Divine Life Read more about skanda, siva, shanmukha, subrahmanya, devas and divine.

Author: Zulkitilar Mugis
Country: Sao Tome and Principe
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Business
Published (Last): 21 April 2012
Pages: 193
PDF File Size: 5.61 Mb
ePub File Size: 3.3 Mb
ISBN: 791-5-68342-960-6
Downloads: 46141
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Vogor

Enraged at the discomfiture of Banukopan and determined to crush the army of the Devas once for all, Surapadma himself gave battle to the Devas and began to work havoc on them. The Wedding ofValli In the dark forest of the mountain, Valli frowns in the midst of the cruel hunters, her relations, and spends her time in throwing stones to drive away birds which peck the grains in the fields. hia

Very much pleased with the intensity of her devotion, the Lord accepted her as His consort. Thus you will restore the glory now lost to the Asura dynasty.

Lord Shanmukha and His Worship

And lprd face of Lord Skanda personifies one of such functions or attributes of the Almighty. One type consists of those who rigidly and sincerely observe the injunctions and follow the teachings of the Vedic scriptures and are thus the followers of Vaidika Karmas. She entreated her sons to do rigorous Tapas on Lord Siva and to obtain boons by which they could have suzerainty over the Devas and live happily and gloriously.

You have got immense power now. When the guests had finished their dinner, Bilvalan would call for his brother, Vatapi, and the latter would come out alive and whole, piercing the abdomen of the guest who had eaten him.

Lord Shanmukha and His Worship

The second is the truth that mere recognition of this or acceptance of the fact that the lower self is undesirable and must be overcome is not enough; we must put this recognition into dynamic action. Murugan heeded shanmuhka prayers of the Devas, killed the three Asuras with His Spear and liberated Devakumara from prison.


It is through concentration on these centres that the Yogi acquires capacity to subordinate his lower nature, to sublimate it, and to utilize all his energy for establishing his identification with the one Lord of the universe, who is Existence-Knowledge-Bliss Absolute.

By using this site, you logd to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. The six heads represent the six rays or the six attributes viz. Devas have been beaten up by Asuras led by Taraka, because Taraka had a boon from ascetic celibate yogi Shiva that only Shiva’s son can kill him. Daksha had 27 daughters whom he had given in marriage to Chandra moon-god.

These six mothers all want to take care of him and nurse baby Kartikeya. This is given out by all Acharyas, all great seers and Mahapurushas in the form of the Sadhana-Chatushtaya, the Shanmmukha or the Sadachara, the acquisition of Daivi-Sampat.

Thus we can also interpret the peacock as symbolising mental equipoise, the predominance of the Sattva over the Rajas and Tamas qualities. The Epic era wodship of ancient India recite numerous legends of Kartikeya, often with his other names such as Skanda. The Tyranny of the Asuras. Shanmujha we sing Kandaranubhuti daily! Vayu bore it for sometime; but, unable to endure it longer, gave it to Agni Fire-god.

The temple of Kartikeya in Kugti village is visited every year by thousands of devotees when the trek is opened in the month hsi March—April. The entire anatomy of the spiritual life can be summed up in this one phrase: This is an emblem of power and indicates that He is the ruler of this universe.

The Vel is an emblem of Power, and olrd that He is the ruler of this Universe. A normal human being goes through three experiences of the waking, dream and deep-sleep states of consciousness. Svaha deposits the semen of Agni into the reeds of River Ganges, where it develops and then is born as six headed Skanda.


The personalities in the Puranas together with the narratives are nothing but the highest expression of human aspirations to understand the Divine Play. These boons were granted. This is given out by all Acharyas, all great seers and Mahapurushas in the form of the Sadhana-Chatushtaya, the Yama-Niyama or the Sadachara, the acquisition of Daivi-Sampat.


These five Jnana Indriyas plus the sixth Indriya, Buddhi, are the six gates through which the Antaratman receives impressions of objects. Daksha, who also attended the Yajna, was filled with such envy and pride that he not only condemned Brahma for giving the sacrament to Siva but also went to the extent of blaspheming Lord Siva and treating His representative, Nandi, in the most contemptuous manner.

Yajna, the fire-worship, is an outer form of worship in which offerings are made to different deities in a prescribed and systematic manner, so that the gods invoked Indra, Varuna, Agni and others would bless the worshipper in achieving certain results in life.

After some time, Lord Kartikeya also called Skanda manifested Himself from those reeds. That is how they became krittikaasconstellation Pleiades, away by light years.

Kartikeya is an ancient god, traceable to the Vedic era. Availing himself of the golden opportunity at Tiruchendur, Indra humbly reminded the Lord of His promise and requested Him to accept the hand of Amritavalli, his daughter now known as Worsbip, in marriage.

Though the fire-faced young chief was successful for a time and inflicted severe casualties on the forces of the Devas, he had to succumb ultimately to the superior strategy of Veerabahu Devar.

When sbanmukha three were in the hall, a great sage, Kanva Rishi, came in. Thus, the Skanda Purana illustrates the play of Maya upon the Jivas, the suffering undergone in consequence and the final release from the clutches of Maya through the grace of Lord Shanmukha in the shape of Velayudha—the Jnana Sakti of the Lord.